The Nerang Visitor Information Centre (Nerang VIC) is situated in the timber heritage cottage, Ceramic House, Bischof Pioneer Park, Nerang. Ceramic (circa 1919) is one of the oldest remaining residences of Nerang, which is the oldest white settlement on the Gold Coast, established in 1865.
The Visitor Information Centre was established by the Nerang Community Association to assist national and international visitors achieve the best possible tourism experience of our town, the precious Hinterland, and the wider Gold Coast.
A prominent focus of the Nerang Visitor Information Centre is to promote and encourage sustainability and conservation through education, as the Hinterland is a precious and fragile environment accorded World Heritage value.
Fully restored by the Nerang Community Association and volunteers, the Visitor Information Centre is open seven days a week and staffed by volunteers with unmatched knowledge of Nerang, the oldest European settlement on the Gold Coast. It is a popular stopover for tourists with its river parklands and easy access from the highway. As well as supplying maps and guides, the Nerang VIC allows Gold Coast and Hinterland online holiday bookings.
Also part of the Nerang Heritage Project, 40 metres away in Bischof Pioneer Park, is Preece House, a timber Queenslander that has been a feature of the town since 1948. It has been restored by Nerang Community Association and is a heritage photographic gallery of the area with pictures from the late 1880s. Preece contains a fully functioning kitchen of the post-war era.
Both houses are a focus for the community, being in regular use for meetings, functions and art-and-craft exhibitions.
The Maid of Sker
The Maid of Sker paddle steamer, circa 1884, brought supplies from Brisbane to Nerang and took produce back to Brisbane markets. The boat rests in Bischof Pioneer Park.